1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Chaos Gamez


    View the announcement post made by Webmaster to read what's new, and what's changed with 3dschaos & wiiuchaos.
  3. Problem Signing up?

    Please use the contact us link at the bottom of the site listing the problem with your email & ip addresses & the problem will be looked into by our admin team
  4. Temporary emails are not supported for signing up accounts on Chaos Gamez, this includes 10 minute emails. All will be detected by our system & the accounts will be deleted
  5. Shared accounts, multiple accounts & inappropriate usernames not allowed on our site

    Please use a legit email account from a reliable email provider, temporary email accounts are not allowed & will be rejected by our system
Dismiss Notice
DMCA Notice

No files are stored on our servers, all links are on external sites. If you have an issue with one of the posts/threads on our site or to make a DMCA report please use the "Contact Us" link at the bottom of the site

Black Screen while Launching GW Menu / Pasta CFW

freshgad Aug 9, 2016

Tags:
  1. freshgad

    freshgad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been struggled on this matter quite a while... I hope someone could help me to get out of this trap...

    I got a New3dsLL (Japan) and tried to downgrade it for GW. It seemed successful (down to 9.1) as I could launch Homebrew. However, a black screen was showed soon after I launched GW... I found several solutions online but my 3DS still showed me the 'black face'... I tried PastaCFW, same problem...

    I ran 'Download checker', and it showed [0 of 5]. Is it good to go?

    Have I missed any steps that cause the problem?

    Shall I -
    - upgrade to 10.3 and downgrade again; or
    - downgrade again with the same version (9.1)?

    Your reply will be appreciated. Thank you!!
     
  2. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Is gateway launcher.dat on the root of your sd card? How are you trying to boot gateway. From the 3dsx from homebrew launcher. Also how do you get into homebrew launcher?
     
  3. freshgad

    freshgad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, launcher.dat is on the root of the card.

    I got into homebrew launcher by "L+Power button" (Menuhax had been installed). I tried scanning the QR code, as well as, typing the address - still no luck to launch GW.

    I booted Gateway simply by clicking the gateway icon or holding L button - again - no luck...

    Please help and thanks for your reply.
     
  4. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Can you get to the gateway menu with all the gateway options?
    Have you set up an emunand?
     
  5. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
    [​IMG]
    This menu
     
  6. freshgad

    freshgad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That is where I have got stuck... My 3DS showed a black screen, instead of the menu as your photo...
    Do I have to set up the emunand before booting the menu? If then, how can I do that?

    Thank you.
     
  7. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Yes right take the gateway cartridge out of your 3ds and boot homebrew launcher then click on gateway icon in the homebrew launcher it should take you to the gateway menu. In there click on format emunand. This will delete everything on your sd card so backup everything first on your pc.
     
  8. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
    It's trying to boot emunand I think and without emunand it gets stuck. Removing the gateway card from your system should get you to the menu. You can use all there stuff in the menu without the cartridge
     
  9. freshgad

    freshgad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I didn't put the cartridge in.

    I have just booted again... It is still black screen... I cannot launch the menu at all, so I cannot set up the emunand...
     
  10. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
  11. freshgad

    freshgad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  12. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
    How are you booting homebrew launcher? Which entry point?
     
  13. freshgad

    freshgad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  14. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
    I only have one more thing to try. It could be an issue with it being Japan region or some kinda frankenfirmware they call it where not everything has downgraded properly. What your booting is menuhax which boots the boot.3dsx from your sd card. Back that up to pc and take a fresh copy of the GW.3dsx and rename it to boot.3dsx. Then overwrite the boot.3dsx on the root of your sd card with this newly named GW.3dsx(now boot.3dsx). So now when you boot it should try to boot gateway menu. Try that.
     
  15. freshgad

    freshgad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No luck - black screen... so is it certain that it has been partially downgraded? How can I repair it?

    Thanks so much for your reply.
     
  16. NeoGamer

    NeoGamer is a Verified  MemberNeoGamer Chaos Legend VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10,548
    Trophy Points:
    148
    It sounds like it. Sorry but I've no idea what else to try. It could be partially downgrade or it could be something else. I can only recommend going to the official gateway support forum and asking there. I can link it here for you as there not a competing site to us and are only a support forum. GATEWAY 3DS | MaxConsole sorry I couldn't be anymore help.
     
  17. freshgad

    freshgad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's alright. Thank you very much for your help.
     
iHax Comunity/